@lyzcosmetics

I recently discovered Lyz Cosmetics on Instagram (@lyzcosmetics). I think it came from stumbling over an awesome purple swatch specifically for Halloween. The shade was ‘Mistress of the Dark’ I believe.

Anyway I had a look at her Etsy store, cried that the awesome purple was sold out, drooled over a few other shades, added them to my cart and then chickened out.

I then followed her on Instagram in case anything else happened to pop up.

She released her Melbourne Cup Collection.

Oh the glittery goodness!

A postage special and I was sold. I picked my favourite 3 of the collection,  added one other I had been drooling over and a charm for good luck….

image

Ta-da! Lovely Lyz even threw in a base coat!

From left to right:
Base Coat, Lucky Lucky Lily*, Showstopper Topper*, Sakura Bloom, I Heirby Win the Race*
(* = from the Melbourne Cup Collection)

Problem was I didn’t know where to start. And I had a fairly fresh gel mani on my canvases. So I experimented nail by nail.

image

First Lucky Lucky Lily. A creamy pink thermal holo. Fairy Floss pink when cold and a pale baby pink when warm. You can see the thermal gradient here. The holo flecks dazzled best with a top coat. I also later added an extra coat of Mode’s Diamonte for a little extra razzle (not seen here).

image

Before you know it they were all done. With various degrees of glitter.

image

Look how they shine!!!
I haven’t yet swatched Sakura Bloom,  but I will soon – perfect spring polish!

Leave a comment